DeShawn Smith Awarded Mr. Football; Joins Ranks with Culpepper, Boldin and Tebow

Photography by Alice Mary Herden

Nature Coast Technical High School's Senior running back DeShawn Smith has been named the 2015 Florida Dairy Farmers Mr. Football. Smith has already been selected Class 5A Player of the Year.

His stats are gaudy. He set a state record with 66 touchdowns crushing the the previous record of 55 touchdowns, which was set by the 2012 Florida Mr. Football Derrick Henry who won this year's Heisman Trophy at the University of Alabama. He rushed for a state leading 3,715 yards on 241 carries (averaging 15.4 yards per carry) which is the third highest total in Florida prep history behind Derrick Henry (4,261) and 1996 Florida Mr. Football Travis Henry (4,087).

When asked how he felt about being awarded 2015 Mr. Football by Florida Dairy Farmers Smith replied that "I feel pretty good about it." He said he has not decided on a college yet.

This is quite an accomplishment for Mr. Smith. He was chosen out of all the football players in the state of Florida. He joins the likes of 1994 winner Daunte Culpepper, 1998 winner Anquan Boldin, and 2005 winner Tim Tebow. Many of the winners of Florida Dairy Farmers Mr. Football went on to great things and the future's looking bright for Mr. Smith.

 DeShawn Smith Florida Dairy Farmers 2015 Mr. Football Trophy

 DeShawn Smith Florida Dairy Farmers 2015 Mr. Football Trophy
Disqus Comments