56.5 F
Spring Hill
Tuesday, April 23, 2024
HomeUncategorizedMayfield named senate majority leader

Mayfield named senate majority leader

- Advertisement -

Continuing to roll out his leadership team, Senate President Wilton Simpson, R-Trilby, announced Monday that Rockledge Republican Debbie Mayfield will serve as Senate majority leader. Mayfield was first elected to the Senate in 2016 after eight years in the House. In a memo to senators Monday, Simpson said Mayfield’s “service in both the House and Senate has provided her with institutional knowledge that is critical for helping guide major legislation through the process. She is a strong advocate for the priorities of her fellow senators and knows how to build the consensus needed to bring key legislation across the finish line.” The announcement came after Simpson on Friday said Sen. Kelli Stargel, R-Lakeland, will chair the Appropriations Committee. Earlier, he named Fernandina Beach Republican Aaron Bean as Senate president pro tempore and Naples Republican Kathleen Passidomo as chairwoman of the Rules Committee.

- Advertisment -

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.

You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of our emails. For information about our privacy practices, please visit our website.
We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing.

Most Popular