88.2 F
Spring Hill
Friday, May 17, 2024
Home2022 ElectionAug. 23 2022 Hernando County Election Round Up

Aug. 23 2022 Hernando County Election Round Up

- Advertisement -

In the Aug. 23, 2022 election two local candidates were elected, 13 candidates will move on to the November ballot and 24 candidates were eliminated. This was an important election not only because one member of the school board and one member of the county commission were elected, but candidate options were narrowed. Despite the importance of this election, there was slightly lower voter turnout in this year’s primary than in 2020, even though there are over 4100 more eligible voters currently. In Hernando County Republican voters out numbered Democrat voters almost two-to-one.

Florida has closed primaries, so you can only vote for who represents your party in some of the elections, but the school board races are non-partisan. The county commission district 4 race (between Jerry Campbell and Anthony Arenz) only had two Republicans in the race, so it was open to everyone.

Jerry Campbell was elected to the County Commissioner District 4 seat. Shannon Rodriguez was elected to the School Board District 3 seat.

The Democratic party winners were Val Demings for US Senate. She will face Marco Rubio in November. Charlie Crist won the governor primary and will face incumbent Ron DeSantis. Aramis Ayala won the primary for Attorney General and will face incumbent Ashley Moody. Naomi Esther Blemur won the primary for Commissioner of Agriculture and will run against Republican Wilton Simpson in November.

- Advertisement -

The Republican party primary winners were Gus Bilirakis, US Representative in Congress District 12. Bilirakis will face Democrat Kimberly Walker in the General Election. Walker was the only Democrat running. Wilton Simpson won the primary for Commissioner of Agriculture. State Representative District 52 was won by John Temple. John Temple’s opponent in the General Election is Ash Marwah, the only Democrat who ran. State Representative District 53 was won by Jeff Holcomb. Holcomb will run against Democrat Keith Laufenberg in November. Brian Hawkins won the primary for County Commissioner District 2. Hawkins will be on the ballot in November because a write-in candidate qualified for this race.

In the non-partisan races the top two candidates will face off in the November election since no candidate received over 50% of the vote. In School Board District 1 Kay Hatch and Mark Johnson will face off. In School Board District 5 race Susan D. Duval will face Monty Floyd.

Important Upcoming Dates:

Friday, August 26 at 9am the canvassing board meets to review provisional ballots, signature cures, etc.

Tuesday, August 30 at 9:00am the canvassing board meets to certify OFFICIAL results.

Preliminary Election Results

32 of 32 precincts Reporting
146,765 Register Voters
37,832 Ballots Counted
25.78% Voter Turnout
19,600 Mailed Ballots


Ricardo De La Fuente (DEM) 4.82% 559 Votes

Val Demings (DEM) 80.40% 9,328 Votes

Brian Rush (DEM) 8.27% 960 Votes

William Sanchez (DEM) 6.51% 755 Votes

Total Votes 11,602

Representative in Congress District 12

Gus Michael Bilirakis (REP)
74.55% 15,779 Votes

Chris Leiser (REP)
5.28% 1,117 Votes

Jack Martin (REP)
12.66% 2,680 Votes

Brian Perras (REP)
4.52% 957 Votes

Sid Preskitt (REP)
2.99% 633 Votes

Total Votes 21,166

Governor and Lieutenant Governor

Charlie Crist (DEM)
64.97% 7,631 Votes

Cadance Daniel (DEM)
2.61% 306 Votes

Nicole “Nikki” Fried (DEM)
30.14% 3,540 Votes

Robert L. Willis (DEM)
2.29% 269 Votes

Total Votes 11,746 Votes

Attorney General

Aramis Ayala (DEM)
38.76% 4,289 Votes

Jim Lewis (DEM)
32.00% 3,541 Votes

Daniel Uhlfelder (DEM)
29.24% 3,236 Votes

Total Votes 11,066

Commissioner of Agriculture

James W. Shaw (REP)
28.28% 5,947 Votes

Wilton Simpson (REP)
71.72% 15,082 Votes

21,029 Total Votes

Commissioner of Agriculture

Naomi Esther Blemur (DEM)
48.69% 5,333 Votes

J. R. Gaillot (DEM)
8.82% 2,061 Votes

Ryan Morales (DEM)
32.50% 3,560 Votes

10,954 Total Votes

State Representative District 52

Rock Daze (REP)
42.43% 2,194 Votes

John Temple (REP)
57.57% 2,977 Votes

5,171Total Votes
State Representative
District 53

Jeff Holcomb (REP)
83.00% 12,611Votes

Anthony Kocovic (REP)
17.00% 2,583 Votes

15,194 Total Votes

County Commissioner District 2

Mike Fulford (REP)
28.36% 5,958 Votes

Brian Hawkins (REP)
42.26% 8,877 Votes

April Johnson-Spence (REP)
29.38% 6,173 Votes

Total Votes 21,008

County Commissioner District 4

Anthony Joseph Arenz (REP)
29.15% 9,702 Votes

Jerry Campbell (REP)
70.85% 23,584 Votes

Total Votes 33,286

School Board District 1

Kay Hatch
34.91% 12,399 Votes

Mark C. Johnson
36.83% 13,082 Votes

Jenn Licata
28.25% 10,035 Votes

Total Votes 35,516

School Board District 3

Jimmy Lodato
39.36% 14,082 Votes

Shannon Rodriguez
60.64% 21,695 Votes

Total Votes 35,777

School Board District 5

Lara Dedmon
14.71% 5,210 Votes

Susan D. Duval
36.19% 12,818 Votes

Pam Everett
20.46% 7,247 Votes

Monty Floyd
28.64% 10,146 Votes

Total Votes 35,421

This article was updated with additional information on 8/24/2022 at 9:45 am.

Rocco Maglio
Rocco Magliohttps://www.roccomaglio.com
Rocco Maglio is a co-founder of the Hernando Sun. He grew up in Brooksville and graduated from Hernando High. He then worked in technology for starting in the early 1990s. He was fascinated by the potential of the Internet even though at the time there were not graphical browsers. He recently earned a Master of Science in Information Technology with a specialization in Cybersecurity.
- Advertisment -

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.

You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of our emails. For information about our privacy practices, please visit our website.
We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing.

Most Popular