74.5 F
Spring Hill
Wednesday, July 17, 2024
HomeBusiness & Community49th Annual Student Recognition Celebration

49th Annual Student Recognition Celebration

- Advertisement -

This year marked the 49th Annual Student Recognition Banquet, presented by the Greater Hernando County Chamber of Commerce and the Chamber Education Training Association (CETA). Community support for the Student Recognition program has been growing every year with increasing sponsorships from local businesses and community members. Totaling $38,000 in scholarship funds this year, local businesses sponsored scholarships in several categories: Leadership, The Arts, Academics, Career and Technical, and Community Service.

Superintendent Stratton started out the evening by explaining to the students in attendance, “You need to know how you got here, and that means somebody in your school recognized you and recognized your potential—and it started there.” He said not to take it lightly that “the community sees your potential.”

Speaking on behalf of teacher of the year Tori Hunt, Ed LaRose, principal of Weeki Wachee High School, spoke about how teachers work tirelessly to bring empowerment to the students and improve campus life. “It’s just amazing to see what these teachers do for these kids,” he said.

Steve Schurdell, managing partner of WDHR Greatest Hits 106, has been Master of Ceremonies for the the Student Recognition event for over a decade. He remarked, “I’ve been saying for years, when I come to this event, it makes me very secure. It makes me very proud. There’s a little saying that we teach our sales people. We tell them it’s not hard to be successful. The only thing you have to do is all of the things unsuccessful people aren’t willing to do. I think for you especially, you’ve chosen to study, you’ve chosen to dedicate yourself and you’ve chosen to have a goal that you work tirelessly for moving forward. So I think anything is possible for you.”

- Advertisement -

Every student walked away from the event with an award or scholarship thanks in part to Walmart Community Grants from stores 6020 and 6253 which provided the Awards of School Excellence. There were 15 $325 Awards of School Excellence distributed this year.

Event Sponsors

Presenting Sponsor: Silverthorn

Presidential Sponsors: Suncoast Credit Union, Brijbag Law, CareerSource Pasco Hernando, Massage Envy, Walmart Community Grants Stores 6020 and 6253, Kiwanis Club of Brooksville, Grace Education Academy

Benefactor Sponsors: Monocle Design Solutions, Stitch to My Lue Print & Marketing

Patron Sponsors: Conner Dirksen

Social Hour Entertainment by Conner Dirksen

Academic Scholarships and Awards

Platinum $1500
Davis Family Hearing / Lauren Dorough, HHS
Bravera Health Brooksville Spring Hill / Gabrielle Shinaberry, WWHS

Gold $1000
Hernando County Education Foundation, Hernando County School District
Superintendent’s Award / Morgan Maeder, WWHS
Brooksville Elementary School / Vanessa Vastano, NCTHS
Hits 106/ Jensen Wilhelm, Hernando Christian Academy
Ackley Dental Group / Riley McDuffie, CHS
Suncoast Credit Union / Owen Haripersad, FWSHS

Silver $750
Massage Envy / Abigail Sallings, FWSHS

Bronze $500
Greater Hernando County Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors / Lian Jasuta, CHS
Jerry and Tracy Campbell / Rasznu Chadzynski, FWSHS
Jerry and Tracy Campbell / Jole Hope, West Hernando Christian School
Hernando County Association of Realtors / Scott Florez, CHS
Kiwanis Club of Brooksville / Reece McCue, CHS

Walmart Award of School Excellence $325
Mackenzie McKee, CHS; Samantha Bianche, CHS; Charlotte Lawyer, CHS; Zander Thieryung, HHS; Nino Forrey, CHS

Career and Technical Scholarships and Awards

Platinum $1500
CETA / Jack Benoist, NCTHS

Gold $1000
Holmes Family Foundation / James Wagenman, WWHS

Silver $750
HCA Florida Oak Hill Hospital / Riley Haber, FWSHS

Bronze $500
Spherion Staffing & Recruiting / Vites Lovell, NCTHS

Walmart Award of School Excellence $325
Samantha Lopez-Rojero, HHS; Anthony Otero-Cossio, WWHS

Community Service Scholarships and Awards

Platinum $1500
PHSC President’s Award / Mia Agrinzonis, WWHS

Gold $1000
Rotary Club of Brooksville / Joseph Flynn, FWSHS
Kiwanis Club of the Adventure Coast / Sean Wannen, FWSHS

Silver $750
Junior Service League of Brooksville / Sara Perez, NCTHS

Bronze $500
Christ the Savior Greek Orthodox Church / Elise Dirr, WWHS

Walmart Award of School Excellence $325
Evan Ortega, HHS; Savanna Colson, HHS

Leadership Scholarships and Awards

Platinum $1500
Maria Sanvenero Memorial Scholarship / Vanessa Quiroz, FWSHS

Gold $1000
Kiwanis Club of Brooksville / Ethan Higgins, HCA
Whiting Insurance / Hanna Maglio, Wider Horizons School
United Way of Hernando / Gina Doherty, NCTHS
Hernando County Education Foundation / Molly Pianin, HHS

Silver $750
CareerSource Pasco Hernando / Gabriel Steves, NCTHS
HCA Florida Oak Hill Hospital / Vivianette Agosto-De Leon, Grace Education Academy

Bronze $500
Spherion Staffing & Recruiting / Gabrielle Healis, HHS
Brijbag Law / Adriana Tirado, NCTHS
PAC Legacy Foundation / Samantha Torres, FWSHS

Walmart Award of School Excellence $325
Jayden Salley, CHS; Grace Jeffers, WWHS; Cameron Jung, WWHS

The Arts Scholarships and Awards

Platinum $1500
Lucas, Macyszyn & Dyer Law Firm / Ashley Bowerfind, NCTHS

Gold $1000
The Tasha Vincent Memorial Scholarship for the Arts / Troy Lonigro, NCTHS
Massage Envy Brooksville – Spring Hill / Emily Meuser, FWSHS

Bronze $500
The Red Mule Pub / Jonah Janse van Rensburg, WWHS
Florida Garage Door Pros / Stephen Lucash, WWHS
Hernando Beach Property Owners Association / Gianna Otero-Cossio, WWHS
Hernando Beach Property Owners Association / Angelo Garcia, West Hernando Christian Academy
Brijbag Law / Charles Lancaster, FWSHS

Walmart Award of School Excellence $325
Aliah Billingsley, HHS; Thaliaimy Camejo, HHS; Riley Solomon, CHS

- Advertisment -

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.

You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of our emails. For information about our privacy practices, please visit our website.
We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing.

Most Popular